Welcome to colorful Colorado! – Day 31

20110630-112400.jpg

Last night we stayed in a town that was right on the mountain time zone line. That caused an interesting morning because everyone’s phone kept switching back and forth between central and mountain time.

Finally we decided it was time to get up, and off we went. Today’s goal was to get to Haswell, CO. We knew that we had high temperatures and lots of wind to deal with so we put our heads down and went to work.

About 15 miles from Tribune we finally crossed into Colorado, something we all have been looking forward to since we left from Nags Head!

So far Colorado has been beautiful and we haven’t even gotten to the areas it is known for. The only complaint I know of currently are the road conditions. I am assuming it is from the affects of winter weather but the pavement is severely broken making a bumpy and rough ride.

20110630-112448.jpg

Our ride was just what we expected starting out, WINDY! We took a break for lunch at the Hawks Nest cafe in Sheridan Lake, CO….which didn’t have a lake. Luckily after lunch the wind really died down which allowed us to pick up the pace a little bit.

Late in the afternoon we rolled into Haswell and set up camp in their city park. We have only stayed in one so far but the Colorado city parks have not matched the city parks in Kansas, but there is hope to redeem themselves.

20110630-112529.jpg

For those of you that don’t know, Haswell is the home of the smallest jail in America, so we took the 3 minute extensive tour. It was indeed small. A total of two rooms and 10×12 ft in size.

20110630-112632.jpg

Tomorrow’s plan is to head all the way to Pueblo, it will be incredibly hard because of the weather forecasted but we are going to give it a shot. Once in Pueblo we plan on taking a much needed rest day because the day after Pueblo we roll right into the Rockies!

20110630-112714.jpg

5 Responses to Welcome to colorful Colorado! – Day 31

  1. Alicia says:

    love these silly pictures. I’m glad you are staying in good spirits! I love Colorado. I hope the rest of the state amazes you.

  2. Randy says:

    You kinda look like that fella laying beside the road with his tougne out in Ashe Grove KS. the other day. Keep going, don’t let the wind get you down. Love Ya,
    Dad

  3. Phyllis says:

    Hi, guys! It’s Phyllis Garrison. I just discovered your blog today! Randy told me about it. I knew you were on the trip, and I had a idea where you might be at what time, but I didn’t realize you were blogging! How awesome! I have traveled extensively over the highways of this great land, and I am excited to read past entries. You are on your way into one of my favorite places — colorful Colorado. I’ve seen all of it. And the route you are taking is absolutely my favorite. You have some wonderful experiences ahead. Looking forward to seeing if you like the area as much as I do.

  4. Phyllis says:

    Just finished catching up with your previous entries and making silly comments as I went. I am a true traveler stuck here at home. I love the road. Always wanted to know what was right around the next bend. You guys are bringing back so many memories for me, and I am so glad your dad told me to read the blog. I’m traveling right along with you.

  5. Maryanne says:

    I love Pueblo! Todd and I used to deliver to the Target warehouse there regularly. Watch out for rogue ducks and hailstorms! We are praying for you!!

Leave a Reply

